Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
peter_17

will my skin get red even if i used bp a year ago?

i used benzoyl peroxide 5% about a year ago but it didn't work very well because my dermatologist told me to use it with a retin-a cream causing a lot of irritation and dryness that aggravated my acne. evil.gif

i have been using erytromicin for several months and now i have a mild/moderate acne.

now i want to use benzoyl peroxide following the regimen.

will my skin get red and itchy the first weeks or is it already used to bp even if i used it a year ago?

Thanks

Peter

I think you should start slowly if you haven't used BP since a year ago. Also, 2.5% benzoyl peroxide is better at reducing redness and irritation and has the same results.

This is such a good question. I agree to start slowly, but make sure to let us know how it goes. I'm curious.

-Dan

I think you should start slowly if you haven't used BP since a year ago. Also, 2.5% benzoyl peroxide is better at reducing redness and irritation and has the same results.

Gels usually absorb better. Also, 4% is probably good. I haven't tried it though.

Anyone else recommend a bp for them?

I stopped the bp for 2 weeks and started getting breakouts. I started again last friday and have had to endure the initial redness and flakyness again, it's getting better though!