Notifications
Clear all

Skin Care Routine! Skin Post Accutane

MemberMember
(@warmpolish)

Posted : 11/24/2016 7:06 pm

• Today I am 20 years old.
  • I Took accutane for 6 months when I was 18 & 1/2 right up to my 19th birthday

For a little less than a year post accutane I had been dealing with scaly red dry skin. I wasn't taking care of my face and I let it get out of hand. I just want people to know how important it is to have a good skin care routine.

Personally for me, post accutane, my skin is more sensitive now than it was before, but I don't get acne. The lack of sebum production has caused me to have dry skin mostly during the winter.

I wasn't washing or moisturizing and started to think I had dermatitis when I really just needed to wash my face and moisturize. So important to moisturize, but to moisturize only when necessary. Im not a doctor but have found personally, if you find that your moisturizer is giving you a red face and making you break out, its because you're using too much.

Adding to that, its important to understand that if you wash your face in the morning with warm water you are most likely not washing away the moisturizer, and putting more moisturizer on will only clog those pores!

My routine is to exfoliate every night very lightly (this way i know everything that was on my face will now be gone)/(some people recommend every other day or once a week, but personally I need the exfoliation every night since I went so long without it for the time being ). In the morning I wash with warm water and if my skin looks dry after washing I will use the smallest amount of moisturizer (a small amount goes a lot longer than you think).

My skin look so good today from exfoliating and moisturizing (the right way) I'm not so mad about what I once thought to be the side effects of accutane.