Notifications
Clear all

Accutane round 2 for mild/moderate acne

MemberMember
(@brandonb17)

Posted : 10/14/2016 9:40 pm

Hello everyone, 
I'm started my second course of accutane last week.  I really enjoyed reading other people's experiences so I'm going to start a weekly log posting to share my experience with you. 

Background info:

I'm a 21 year old male and my acne began in 12 th grade and persisted.  In my first year of college my dermatologist put me on 70 mg/day does of Accutane for my acne which was considered moderately-severe.  My system absorbed this very well and killed my acne completely in a short course of 5 moths.  If I remember correctly I got side effects 2 weeks in, a very mild initial breakout 3 weeks in, and it was all up from there. I remember thinking in my 3rd month, "why am I still taking this?".  My skin was flawless at this point.  

Fast forward a year...

I'm in second year college now and I'm beginning to feel the stress of school , and probably the effects of lack of proper nutrition.  This combined with drinking alcohol has brought on some cystic, hormonal acne. It's really not bad, about one big zit every two weeks that I could cover up with my ex-girlfriends makeup pen if I wanted.

Present day:

The hormonal acne has persisted and slightly worsened so I decided to start course two.  I like to think of my case as a silent killer, it's bad enough to effect my looks, but not bad enough to demand immediate attention.  I get frustrated now looking at it in the mirror, "why me!?".  Haha well Anyways, I'm sick of it so it's time to put an end to it. 

It's been 7 days since my dermatologist started me on round 2 at 70 mg/day.