Notifications
Clear all

Finally Seeking Emotional Support

MemberMember
(@leelowe1)

Posted : 09/13/2015 2:41 pm

I have been a member of this forum since 2011 and in no way was I prepared to still be searching for an answer how many years later. I've had acne since I was 16 and now I'm 32. It's chronic and I get all kinds. My skin now is inflamed with over a dozen pustules, three cysts and many closed comedones. I also have dermatitis which makes treating with topicals all but impossible. I've tried diet changes, naturopaths, holistic people and most topicals and orals known to man. I've exhausted almost all pharmaceutical options. I was prescribed spiro and its my next step before even beginning to think about a uber low course of accutane......again.

With that said, I am an emotional wreck. I am a teacher, I choose not to wear make up and I am once again getting the stares and questions about my skin. It's been a rough deal. Tomorrow night I meet with a therapist to start treatment on my depression and for the first time, I plan to be 100% honest about my skin issues. I figure this is a lifelong condition so I need to learn to deal with having it and quit focusing on making it go away.

I have my brothers wedding in November and a huge family gathering in December and my anxiety is through the roof over this. Hopefully others can offer words of kindness and/or support.

MemberMember
(@appenyere)

Posted : 09/13/2015 3:12 pm

I'm really sorry you feel this way. I felt -- and sometimes still do feel -- what you feel now. I think it's wonderful that you are getting help from a therapist. I hope they can help you emotionally, and if you ever need it, I can be supportive of you as much as I can. Just send me a message anytime. I hope you feel better about yourself.

MemberMember
(@leelowe1)

Posted : 09/13/2015 3:20 pm

Thank You for the kind words!

MemberMember
(@appenyere)

Posted : 09/13/2015 3:26 pm

Thank You for the kind words!