Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
dsk02

Accutane side effects

Hello,

I've finally decided to ask my doctor to give me accutane. I have been having acne for ages now and have tried everything. This weekend I have the worst breakout ever and its getting really depressing.

How long is accutane usually prescribed for. (3-4 months)

I have a couple of questions about the side effects of accutane:

1. I am studying for my GMAT and have to work for 10 hours and come home and study for a couple of hours at least.

Does accutane hamper your mental faculties in any way ?

Did anyone experience any loss of concentration or focus because of accutane ?

2. I noticed in one of the threads that you do get a lot tired because of accutane .

Is it true ?

I can live with other side effects. (dry lips , hair loss etc) They are not bad as the ugly acne I have right now.

Finally, any tips on how to ask my derm accutane.

thanks,

dsk

Guest Craigems

I'm currently doing my university Exams, and i have found that (i'm on RoAccutane by the way), that my concentration is about the same maybe a little better but thats coz of the prednisone i am taking with RoAcc. I think from memory it does cause some lack of concentration but i mean acne in it self can cause u a lack in concentration anyways. Do what i do eat lots and drink lots throughout the day (of the right foods eg fruit, nuts, maybe a bit of meat) and ur concentration is better. Specially have breakfast, even if u DONT want to eat, EAT!!! and try to eat lots because eating improves concentration by 30% maybe a little more and drinking plenty of water to avoid headaches.

Now with the question of asking ur doctor so they will let you take the drug, Tell your doctor you are:

*Emotionally troubled by your acne just a little concentration strays because of it.

*U think u might have scarring from it.

*Its been plaguing you for a long time and its got to the point where you need to get rid of it.