Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
LucyInTheSky

Spironolactone: your opinions are needed ladies

biggrin.gif Hello to all of you biggrin.gif

I have been doing a lot of research on Spironolactone and Diane-35 and was wondering what your opinions are concerning SPIRO as a long term treatment for ladies who have not been respnding to other treatments... what do you think?

* Is it a woman's alternative to ACCUTANE or DIANE-35, YASMIN (etc.), and possibly a replacement for these drugs ? Which do you think are safer?

I am not an expert on Spiro or the other pills you mention, but I do know that Yasmin (which is the pill I am on) actually contains a small dose of Spiro. So with Yasmin, you get the best of both worlds - it is an oral contraceptive but also provides many of the benefits of being on Spiro, i.e. reduction of bloating, acne prevention, reduction in "male" facial hair, etc.

I have heard of women with moderate to severe acne being prescribed both Yasmin and Spiro to be taken together. Since I have, at worst, mild acne, I am not taking Yasmin as an acne treatment and have no need to go this route. But some have and claim to have had great results.

And in answer to your underlined question, YES, I do believe that Spiro can be considered a "stand alone" acne treatment for women with hormonal acne, since it is an anti-androgen. Therefore, it could be considered a "replacement" for other acne treatments, such as oral contraceptives, antibiotics, topicals, etc.

Just be sure to read up on the possible side effects of Spiro and consider the pros and the cons before you decide.

i've been on it for 1 month and it's great. My skin has never looked so clear.....Spiro has been a savior for me! I recommend it hands down over ANY bc pill....birth control pills are very bad for you. I got a blood clot in my lung b/c of it.