Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Stella the diver

Is There A Correlation Between Working In A Restaurant And Acne Breakouts?

I know this might be a stupid question lol. I'm not talking about any restaurant, though, nor any job position. I'm mostly referring to restaurants that fry a lot of stuff and if one's working mostly inside a kitchen. Now, I've been working for nearly a decade in a Chinese restaurant, mostly in the kitchen packing orders. It's a very tiny kitchen and they fry food all the time. I feel like my face is more sticky from oil and sweaty, especially in the summer. I don't fry the food, though, so I'm not really in close proximity to the vat of bubbling oil, but since the kitchen is small, I'm about 1-2 meters away from it. If it doesn't cause breakouts, then I guess it plays a role in making my face more oily?

When I was in high school and college I worked as a cook in a restaurant that did a lot of deep frying. I always felt as though I had a thin layer of grease on me, and my skin was pretty bad back then. Somehow the frying grease must penetrate into the skin because I remember smelling like deep fried fish/seafood even after taking a shower. I think you are right.

I think there is a correlation because my sister used to work at a pizza place, and her face was always really broken out. A while after she quit her acne didn't completely go away but it definitely improved.

stella, i am not sure if it causes break outs but i so fear that whole idea.

u know i love cooking.

absolutely love it but its been mnths since i have cooked something totally myself.

our kitchen isnt a big one. and i could call it 'hot & humid' all year round.

so i sweat quite a lot if i am to stand and prepare full meals.which i dread.

i have never found no evidence as of now but i am just to scared to even try it.

in fact there's been times when i need to go stir something,but i dnt and wait for mum.