Notifications
Clear all

First Time On Accutane!

MemberMember
(@grace103)

Posted : 06/24/2013 12:51 am

Hey everyone :)

So this is my first time using accutane, and I think it's fair to say i'm pretty nervous about the whole experience! Just for some background information I would describe my acne as moderate-severe (hopefully I can upload some pictures later) and I have tried pretty much everything with minimal results so I figured I should just bite the bullet and give accutane a go. When I was about 15 (i'm 17 now) I developed mild-moderate acne but it was enough to worry me so I was prescribed doxycyline by my GP and it worked extremely well, I basically only developed the occasional pimple around that time of the month. Unfortunately, in December last year I stopped taking the antibiotics out of fear of using them long term and within 2 months my acne was back about 5 times worse. I tried doxy again but it made my skin even worse so eventually my GP prescribed me Dianne 35. Needless to say, I had a horrible initial breakout from Dianne 35 and had to take minocycline (or something like that) just to stop the huge cysts from developing. During this time I also tried changing my diet etc. with no change. Eventually I had to go off the pill as it made me an emotional wreck and the antibiotics gave me severe stomach pain. So fast track to now and I'm currently on 20MG of accutane once a day and erythomycin twice a day (mainly just to prevent a horrible IB) and I'm seriously hoping my acne can be cleared for good! Hopefully I can update any important changes and encourage anyone else on the same journey, as reading other peoples logs is what inspired me to finally take the plunge!

Day 3:

Haven't noticed any serious changes to the acne so far, as is to be expected on a low dose and so early on in the treatment.

Skin is definitely more oily than usual, but this could also be due to me not really taking care of it the pass couple of days