Notifications
Clear all

Sensitive Skin (Trying Diet Adjustments)...what To Wash With? Advice For A Beginner..

MemberMember
(@margot1126)

Posted : 09/26/2012 11:12 pm

Hey Everyone,

So - I'm a newbie here. I have tried - literally - EVERYTHING to help my acne, as the further along I get with my "acne knowledge" the more acne I have. In high school, I was able to control my acne with Proactiv. However, the product eventually stopped working for me. When I was in high school, I have no recollection of having "sensitive skin," but as I've gotten a bit older (24 now), my skin feels like its constantly sore. I've tried:

-non-acne specific, heavy-moisture regimens

-acne-specific benzoyl peroxide regimens (Proactiv)

-salycilic acid regimens (Clinque, various natural brands)

-oil regiment (only tried for a two weeks..visibly improved my skin, but didn't get rid of acne, and I found it quite drying)

Now that I'm older, my skin seems like its always dry, even when I am using moisturizing regimens.

I went through a period of about 3 months where I completely stopped using makeup. Didn't help.

Anyways, the point is that I seem to have quite sensitive skin. My skin is quite blotchy, though not necessarily rosacea skin, I don't think. I have fairly large pores. My acne is only really severe around my mouth, but I have what looks like very small cystic acne all over my face. I have almost no problem with body acne.

I have heard that acne around the mouth can signal a food allergy. I want to try both dairy-free and gluten-free living. Does anyone have any advice on if I should do both at once, one at a time, etc? Or does anyone have any advice on how long it will take to notice a difference if it does turn out to be a food allergy/sensitivity issue?