Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
hypatia93

Strict Diet Helped Cleared Most Acne

My "strict diet" helped cleared most of my acne for a couple of months, but then this drove me to crave certain foods. So, currently, I'm not clear, and I have to work my way back to the diet again.

I'm a vegan, and figured it was wheat that was causing most of my acne--forehead specifically. So starting from January, I completely cut off wheat. I also avoided processed foods, so that meant gluten-free bread, sweets, foods with preservatives, etc. What immensely helped was adding raw coconut butter or oil to my diet.

So what did I eat? I cooked, and that was time consuming, especially since I'm a college student. The oils I only used for cooking was virgin extra olive oil. I steamed vegetables such as broccoli, bok choy, and choy sum for meals, and they usually had garlic or onions. I ate it them with brown rice and quinoa. For breakfast, I had gluten free oats with coconut oil and unsweetened organic soymilk. The soymilk purely contained water and organic soybeans--nothing else, no sugar. It's very plain, but it didn't make me break out. I had cooked chickpeas and other beans, but mostly just chickpeas. I also took my vegan B12 sub-lingual supplement.

I had dried fruit, specifically organic raisins and dried figs. These dried fruits contained no preservatives. I added fresh fruit to my diet as all and tried to eat fruits more often, bananas, blueberries, mangos, whatever. I drank warm/hot water instead of cold because it helped with the digestion system.

I did not touch my face--meaning I did not wash it or apply things to help heal skin. It's true that your skin heals naturally by itself. So from January to the summer, my skin healed slowly and became mostly cleared. Occasionally I mildly broke out under my chin, but that was from hormones because of upcoming menstruation.