Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Just me!

Differin - Sudden Rash/sensitivity?

I've been using Differin for about 2 years with great results. But about two months ago, I suddenly got really itchy, scaly, dry rashes that felt hot to the touch and looked bright red (i've attached some pictures i took at the time).

My doctor and she said that it was very likely contact dermatitis. But I haven't changed my regimen at all, so that's what's really throwing me off.

I was using (and have been using for years):

Differin 0.3% Gel (pea-sized amount)

Spectro Jel for Blemish-Prone Skin

Diluted Dr. Bronner's Tea Tree Castille Soap (at the end of the day, if makeup was used)

A DIY 5% Niacinamide, 5% N-A-G in Aloe Vera gel + Glycerin moisturiser

Olay's Complete All Day UV Moisture Lotion SPF 15, Sensitive Skin

I've tried switching down to the 0.1% cream but no dice either. So I quit using Differin completely and so far so good (although the areas that had the rashes are still tight and dry). But now my skin completely congested and disgusting. ):

Can someone please let me know if they've experienced anything like this before? Or... any advice or anything? Please, this is really tormenting me. ):

post-66630-0-96059900-1340812038_thumb.p

post-66630-0-40150100-1340812047_thumb.p

post-66630-0-96059900-1340812038_thumb.p

post-66630-0-40150100-1340812047_thumb.p

just looks like you developed an allergy to something in your environment.

i had similar reactions for a number of months and finally traced it to my boyfriend's sweatshirt and the laundry detergent he was using