Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

In Re: http://www.acne.org/messageboard/index.php?showtopic=31613

Hey curiousz,

I'm a med student whose takin' Accutane...I really don't understand your claim...I've done my undergrade in Molecular Biology and Genetics and I would like to challange your claim that accutane "alters" the regulation and expression of DNA...first of all, do you have any idea what that means? Your posts are very very generalized....

Quote:

"It was originally designed as a cancer drug. It was intended to slow down the growth of tumor cells. In the same way, it slows down the creation of regular cells. This is the mechanism. It's designed to regulate gene expression."

where did you get this from? and what is the mechanism? you say that it "slows down the creation of regular cells"...how? does is alter checkpoint controls at G1, or G2 stage? or does it alter synthesis of DNA like chemotheraputic agents such as melphalan which inhibits DNA and RNA synthesis via formation of carbonium ions? Does it alter tumour supressor genes like p53 gene or does it create activate proto-oncogenes? Does it induce apoptosis?

In science, we tend to back things up with evidence....i believe your just using hearsay...if not, I apologize...but please back up what you're talking about and stop using laymen's terms....

Quote:

"The changes associated with accutane all indicate that gene expression is being altered, because that's the positive benefit of accutane. It deals with all the problems of acne, but it also changes other parts of your body as well. It's like using a rocket launcher to open up a door, it gets the job done but it damages everything around it."