Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi everyone!

While I have been stalking acne.org for the longest time, this is my first time posting. I had hoped that my first post ever would be one saying that "I am acne free!" ( literally, I fantasize about this ) but unfortunately, that one is yet come!

A little background on my skin which has bothered me since my teenage years, and I am 26 now. Till the age of 18 I had minor breakouts, nothing too serious though at the time they really bothered me! My derm put my on Diane 35 which was a miracle and cleared up my skin for the next few years. This was amazing as for the first three years of college I had clear skin and never needed anything except a little concealer on old marks. Mind you, at the best my skin has been I had a few small red marks on my cheeks so it was never perfect, but it was easily covered with concealer and that was enough for me.

Somewhere around my 4th year of college I went off the Diane and experienced a HORRENDOUS cystic breakout! I got back on Diane the fastest I could and eventually my skin settled down. I had post acne hyper pigmentation for a short while but I cured it with Mama Lotion and supplements like zinc and vitamin E. This however was a turning point in my skin, as once I went off the Diane in spite of getting back on it with only a 2 month break , my skin NEVER went back to normal. After 3 years of hardly ever breaking out, my skin became volatile and my battle with acne had come with a vengeance. I could no longer take decent, kind of clear skin for granted. Think twice before taking BC pills for acne because there are some pretty serious long term effects, however, there is no doubt that they do clear up skin and for some of us that is the most important thing.