Jump to content
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Does Anyone Know If Glucose Syrup Is Gluten Free ?

Recommended Posts

We don't have that in the U.S. Whether or not its gluten free, you should use this sweetener sparingly.

ok, it's in the uk and supposed to be gluten free, but some sites say it contains traces of gluten and others say its' free

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

What is it made from? The closest thing we have is corn syrup which is pure glucose. But U.S. corn these days...

Okay, I have to ask something. Since you say corn syrup is "pure glucose" what does it matter if the corn was GM'd or where it came from in general.

D-Glucose is glucose. There is only one structural formula that it can be. Therefore your implication that the source of glucose somehow makes it "better" or "worse" is false.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

^Ok. Correction. The sugar in corn syrup is pure glucose..

And in case people don't know, Im not talking about the HFCS used by the food industry in drinks and prepared foods but plain old fashioned corn syrup sold in your supermarket for many decades. It's a completely different thing.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Personalized Advice Quiz - All of Acne.org in just a few minutes