Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
zalaok

Clear Skin Right Before/during Period?

So I've been noticing a strange pattern in my skin for a few months. My skin gets pretty clear right before and during my period every month. I know its common for women to get more breakouts on their period, but its the complete opposite for me.

Does anyone else have this happen? What kind of hormone imbalance would that be? Has anyone with this problem found an effective treatment to deal with this hormone imbalance?

just a little background- I've been recovering from anorexia for almost a year now, and i'm 100% positive my extreme weight gain is the reason why my hormones have gone crazy and have given me a face full of acne- i've never struggled with acne before this.

i'd like to find out what the hell is going on with my body but i don't know what to do.

In the past my skin always cleared up literally the day I got my period, or during my period. It was always my savior. However, I usually broke out really badly in the 2 weeks leading up to my period, so I don't know about it getting better "slightly before." The reason is because once your period comes, estrogen levels increase, preparing you for another cycle of oh-so-fun fertility!

Now my skin has no rhythm since I'm on birth control and heading on Accutane, so unfortunately, it's all just breakouts, whenever, whatever. Blargh. Point being, it can be totally random since everyone's different. :-/

The normal pattern is to break out the week or so before your period, because your testosterone levels increase (which leads to oily skin and acne), and then your face heals during your period because it reverses and estrogen rises again. At least, that's how I understand it. And really, apart from eating healthy, there isn't much you can do to make the breakouts better - besides going on birth control. However, that doesn't always work out so great either...