Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
jenny719

Chill Out Program: Commence!

Hi all,

I'm new to the boards, so thought I would start off by briefly introducing myself. My name is Jenny and I am a college student (I'm a junior) on the East Coast. I am majoring in neuroscience and plan to attend either med school or grad school (or both!) after taking some time off to work/figure out my plans for the future after I graduate next year.

I've been picking at my face ever since my acne began to worsen in high school, though it only became a noticeable problem once I started college. Perhaps it was the additional academic stress (or because my mom wasn't around to tell me to stop :P) that contributed to this exacerbation...either way, it's been a serious problem for about 2.5 years, and it's time for me to stop. At this point, my acne isn't much of an issue--it's the picking that enables the acne formation.

I've attempted to stop in the past, and have even been marginally successful, but it seems that as soon as I begin to ease up on myself a little bit (after seeing the success of not picking), I relapse.

Now, I'm going to try again.

After perusing the boards tonight, I bought Mario Badescu's Healing Cream! I really hope it works! While I was doing all of this (reading the boards, online shopping, checking email, etc.) I noticed and recorded several instances in which I had the urge to pick. I find that my urges usually arise when I'm doing something sedentary--reading, doing stuff on the computer, studying, etc. When I'm active, or actively using my hands, I tend to forget about picking entirely. I work in a lab, and obviously can't pick at my face when my hands are gloved/covered in nasty chemicals. Tonight while I was in lab I had the idea to bring some gloves home with me. I'm not wearing them right now, but I'm going to do some reading in a bit and will put the gloves on. We'll see how it goes!