Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
frogslegs

Accutane Pill Swallowing Tips?

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to Accutane (just took my second pill about 10 minutes ago, started yesterday), but I've always struggled with taking pills.

I've recently begun to take smaller advil/tylenol pills but I usually break them first. I'm almost 100% sure you're not supposed to crush Accutane pills so i have not been.

I was put on the 40mg peachy pills and both times I have struggled to swallow the pill. First time I tried putting it in bread, somehow thought that would help lol, but it didn't. I've gagged both times and I can't continue like this, struggling to swallow the pill each day for numerous months.

With smaller pills I'll put water in my mouth first, pill, then more water to swallow with, but that's just not doing it for me with the pill. Today I tried eating an Oreo and putting the pill in to swallow with the Oreo pieces in hopes that it would just feel like food to me. Yeah, didn't really help either.

Basically the point of this thread is... do any of you have troubles taking the Accutane pills? If so, how do you overcome it? Do you have any tips that you can share for swallowing the pills?

Thanks to anyone who can suggest anything!

If you're having trouble swallowing the 40mg, you could ask for the 10mg equivalence of 40mg and then take 4 at the time of dosing. If you still have difficulties, you can inquire about the availability of Accutane as a suppository (pushed through the rectum).

Like you've pointed out, a capsule of isotretinoin is not meant to be crushed - it screws with absorption.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the helpful reply, Nomit. If they're much smaller then maybe that would be a good option for me. Do you know if I'd have to take the rest of my month's prescription before I could switch to a smaller dosage?