Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
hitman87

Long Time Accutane Users (8+ Years) Were Are You?

I stopped Accutane about 4 weeks ago and unfortunately I'm getting breakouts again. Nothing cystic (never had), just alot of pustules all over my face and hair. I've been using Accutane for about 8 years now and it got me wondering. Will I ever get rid of this awesome but awful medicine?! ;) I'm a low dose user, so besides some dryness here and there, nothing major that prevents me from using it.

In the last few months I started to get concerned, because I've been using this medicine for about 8 years now on low dose (10mg a day). This medicine can't be good for the body, but it helps me control my skin problem. I was wondering if there are any other long time Accutane users out there? What are you're experiences after using this medicine for so long? Did you ever clear, or?

Hey there! I'm also a long term Accutane user. I started when I was 16 and can't even count how many courses I've been on since (I'm 23 now so it's been 7 years). The first few courses I did 40mg for 6 months and they would each keep me clear for a year or so sometimes a year and a half. After that my dermatologist would prescribe me the full 6 months worth of 40mg but I would only take it for 2 months and stay clear for a while after, probably about 6 months. It's amazing how little of it I need to stay clear, but like you I have my concerns. The only side effects I have had are dryness, especially my lips and slight lower back pain while taking the pills, but that goes away as soon as I stop. I would also say my night vision decreases slightly while on them, but that also goes away when I stop.