Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
snsdgirl14

Feeling Depressed. Missing Classes.

I'm a freshman in college. I have struggled with acne for years; I always seem to get a rather bad breakout in the winter each year, then it tends to clear up by the spring. However, I got a pretty bad breakout starting around mid October this year. I didn't pay it much attention because for some reason, all I really got were red marks; it looked like hyperpigmentation. Not really many raised pimples. I know it sounds weird, but it was easily covered with makeup so I didn't think much of it. Without makeup, though, I definitely looked like I had some acne problems.

Fast forward to Christmas break and my mom kind of freaked out about my skin, saying it's never looked like this, etc. She got me an appointment with a derm for the end of break. I tried to treat my skin over break, but nothing really worked. In fact, it seemed to get worse--I was now getting actual zits, which of course suck because they leave MORE red marks.

The derm prescribed me Monodox (doxycycline I guess) to take twice a day, Epiduo at night, and Aczone in the morning. I don't use the Aczone because it wasn't really working for me, plus I don't like using acne meds during the day. I use the Monodox and Epiduo accordingly, though. I just can't tell if it's working. I think my red marks are starting to fade a little bit, but not a whole lot. My skin is drier now so my makeup doesn't look as good. And I'm getting more zits than usual--small ones that usually come to a head quickly, but nevertheless, they're still there. I don't know if I'm still in the "it gets worse before it gets better" stage (I've been taking the medication for about 3 weeks) but it's frustrating.