Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
zitmonster

Benzoyl Peroxide Side Effects

I have been using benzoyl peroxide 10% acne gel for about 10 years. I'm now 28, and I still get zits now and then, but the medication has done a great job in controlling my acne. I have also had very few side effects other than dry skin.

My may concern is the potential side effects of the medication due to long-term usage. My dermatologist says there are none, but I see some stuff on-line that says it may be a tumor promoter. Has anyone be using this medication for a long time or have information on the potential long-term usage side-effects. Secondly, does anyone have a good plan on getting off the medication. Should it be done by putting it on less frequently, slowly weening off the medication.

Thanks in advance for any info.

From what I know, there have been no studies that have conclusively linked benzoyl peroxide to cancer...people have been using it as a treatment for acne for ages and nothing has happened to them. And I don't see why you'd need a plan to get off BP! Just stop using it once you think you've cleared.

BP has been linked to premature skin ageing and something else i remember reading back when i considered using it.

Ever wonder why you go red with it when you use to much,or why your skin goes ultra dry or flakes?...because it's really TOO POWERFUL to apply to your skin daily.

TRUST ME,there is better alternatives than messing with your skin in the way your doing atm!

BP has been linked to premature skin ageing and something else i remember reading back when i considered using it.

Ever wonder why you go red with it when you use to much,or why your skin goes ultra dry or flakes?...because it's really TOO POWERFUL to apply to your skin daily.

TRUST ME,there is better alternatives than messing with your skin in the way your doing atm!