Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi!

So I went to my Derm ,Last year November 15, and i told her that i am getting sick of having to deal with new zits,oily face and hyper pigmentation everyday.eusa_wall.gif I am a Nurse and its kinda Sh*tty when you have a face that has 5-10 active spots everyday and yet you have to face the patients with full of confidence,happy and willing to help them when inside you feel like crap.

I had tried all the creams,facial washes,antibiotics and stuff. So i asked my Derm if i could take accutane,at first she was like Accutane can cause lots of side effects that we don't want and you have to undergo some lab work every month. I immediately answered i am willing to experience all of that just to get rid of this acne which is ruining my self esteem/life. Then I had my lab work done, it says that my ldl,hdl,lipid profile's results were normal, same goes for my liver function test. So she finally agreed to give me accutane, 20 mg/day.

Its actually my 7th week and so far during the past few weeks i experienced ups & down during my treatment. Right now i have 7 active spots.moderate to severe acne scarring, and tons of post inflammatory hyper pigmentation. I hope that this initial breakout will be over very soon.

How long on the average does initial breakout last? I am on 20 mg/day which according to some poster is a low dose, and my derm is planning to put me on accutane for 3-4 mos. depending on the improvement of my face, Can i use AHA./Glycolic containing products?

Happy Holidays!