Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

What Can Be Done To Help Scars In The "post-'tane Phase"?

Hey,

I was just wondering what can be done to improve the appearance of scars during the "post-'tane phase"?

I have been off of Accutane for almost five months now and I am wondering if there is anything that I can do to help my scars. I know that people say to wait from 6 months to a year or so before trying invasive procedures. Is there anything that I can do right now?

The only thing that I am currently doing is using Retin-A micro gel 0.01%.

Thanks in advance.

im trying 1.0mm derma rolling right now. i make sure that no blood is drawn

I don't think that is a good thing in the post Accutane phase, though I am not a doctor.

I'm in the same situation, gonna see a derm later today, I'll ask her and let you know.

Alright, thanks.

So I paid a visit to Dr. Padma Jain in Toronto, she told me 5 months is enough to start fractional CO2 laser treatment. She made certain bold claims, she said with 3 treatments 4 months apart, I'd see 90% of my scars GONE, and results would be permanent.

She said I could also start on smooth beam laser.

For subcision, she says I'd have to wait till the 9 months mark.

So I paid a visit to Dr. Padma Jain in Toronto, she told me 5 months is enough to start fractional CO2 laser treatment. She made certain bold claims, she said with 3 treatments 4 months apart, I'd see 90% of my scars GONE, and results would be permanent.

what type of scars do u have? SmoothBeam laser does nothing for boxcar/crater type scaring. i did 5 treatments and did nothing.

Smoothbeam is a laser for acne, not scars. just a heads up.

what type of scars do u have? SmoothBeam laser does nothing for boxcar/crater type scaring. i did 5 treatments and did nothing.

I have mostly rolling scars, I am doing research right now, and my conclusion on smoothbeam agrees with your statement.