Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi, I'm relatively new to chemical peels. I have been using salicylic 20% acid every 5-7 days over the past few months and it has helped clear my acne tremendously. But now I'm left with all these red marks on my face left behind from my acne. It is quite embarrassing so I'm thinking of buying Lactic acid, I hear that helps more with skin tone and helps fade red marks and etc. Has anyone here had any successful results from lactic acid peel in treating their red marks and evening out skin tone?

I also hear people talk about layering peels, I can't really find anything about how to layer. I'm hoping someone here can give me some insight on how to layer peels. I would like to know how exactly do you layer peels and how long do you wait in between each layer and how much peel to put on each layer and if you could give me some links to webpages explaining some of these steps that would be great. Oh and can you layer different types of peels together? Like for example salicylic and lactic acid or would it be best to stick to one type of peel when layering.

next question- do I need to use an AHA product while doing these peels for best results. I was using the proactiv toner( it has 6% aha)that I had left over but I finished that up not to long ago. I just bought another toner but it doesn't have aha, it's thayers witch hazel alcohol-free rose w/aloe vera. I like it because it makes my skin so soft and keeps my skin hydrated where the proactiv toner wasn't doing that for me. So I was thinking of getting a cream, this is the one I have in mind-

http://www.amazon.com/Alpha-Hydrox-Enhanced-Anti-Wrinkle-Exfoliant/dp/B000052YM3/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1323018737&sr=8-2

I read somewhere where it said 5% -10% aha before and after chemical peel would help you get more even results. What do you all think, should I buy this cream or is it not really needed?