Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
takenick

My Results With Bha And Other Remedies, Etc. Any Advice?

I've been using Paula's Choice 2% BHA Gel in the shower for a couple years. I lightly exfoliate on wet skin for :30 then rinse off. It keeps my skin clearer and less dry/flaky than it would normally be, and softer. It also might help fade red marks faster. It's a staple for me. My main acne problem now is blackheads on my nose and upper cheeks. I decided to use 2% BHA Liquid on my nose every night (leave-on) to see if it would get rid of them. Within a few days it seemed like they were lighter. After 2 months I wasn't sure if there was any improvement since then, but figured it couldn't hurt to keep using it. I also decided to start using it each night on my right cheek to compare to the left after some time. I used it on my right cheek for 3 months (stopped last week) and am continuing to use it on my nose. I saw no improvement on my right cheek from the BHA. My left cheek looks better. So BHA either did nothing or made my blackheads WORSE, when it's supposedly meant to get rid of them. When I stopped using it on my cheek I broke out in that area the next day then it went away. I guess my skin became dependent on it. Looking in a magnified mirror now, it actually made my pores bigger on that cheek.

I haven't posted here in a while so I want to update some other changes to my regimen, not really related to blackheads:

-5-6 months ago I stopped using 33% organic ACV/water as a toner. My face became less blotchy/red/acne-prone. Don't use this. It does nothing good.