Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I have two questions about CP. You can skip over the little anecdote I've provided in italics.

I have been using Clindamycin Phospate topical lotion now for over 3 months now. My skin has been consistently moderate. Sometimes it clears up well for several days. Sometimes it gets a little worse than moderate.

How I've been using it has also been consistent for quite some time now:

Morning:

-PanOxyl 10% BP facewash

-Apply Clindamycin Phospate to clean, dry skin

-wait several minutes, apply emu oil

Night:

-PanOxyl 10% BP facewash

-Apply Clindamycin Phospate to clean, dry skin

I was wondering if I need to cut out the emu oil. I use it as a moisturizer. Before clindamycin phospate, I used Tazorac, and I was told to use emu oil as a moisturizer. I was also told that emu oil enhances the effectiveness of Tazorac. I was wondering if emu oil had the same effect on clindamyic phospate, or if I am wasting my efforts. I hope emu oil does not render the CP useless.

I also wanted to know if there is a suggested length of time to let the medicine settle in to the skin in the mornings? Should I just leave it on all day, or should I wash it after x hours?

Dermatologist diagnosed that I have folliculitus and prescribed CP for me. I have been using it for about 3 months with mixed results. It has pretty much cleared up issue on my back and chest, but has not worked well on my face.

Regarding your two questions:

I think the use of a moisturizer is pretty much personal preference based on your situation. My derm doc indicated that it would be fine to skip using a moisturizer if my skin didn't feel too dry. Frankly, you are better off minimizing the number of variables involved. The derm doc did not indicate any certain moisturizer that enhances the effectiveness of CP.