Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Tunnelvisionary

Gradually Switching To A More Natural Approach

Hello everyone, just joined this forum, but I've been browsing for a while now.

Wanted to start a log to have somewhere to keep track of what I've been doing, what's been working, goals, etc.

Luckily, I'm not absolutely hellbent on being 100% clear, which I think can only help people in many direct and indirect ways.

However, my goals are to be able to stop using the creams my dermatologist has prescribed for me. I've been using benzoyl peroxide creams for about six years now, and while it has had a positive effect on my acne, I deal with other skin problems.

Despite having the oiliest/shiniest skin known to man, acne medicines seem to dry the living crap out of my face, and as a result, my skin texture is awful, and I have these deepish wrinkles on my face at the ripe old age of 19. Haha!

Ultimately, I want to clear up my face, as well as treat these problems that acne treatments have given me over the years.

I've been wanting to take a natural approach for a while now. My family back in Pakistan all have clear, beautiful skin. My cousins who are only a few years younger than me have amazing skin texture, and their skin is so clear. We have the same genes, so wtf is going on? Come to think of it, from all the time I've spent in Pakistan with my family, I don't think I've seen anyone with acne problems.

The last time I went there was before I started my freshman year of high school (About 13-14 years old) and by then, I had been having acne trouble. As I was in Pakistan though, I noticed that despite the fact I had stopped using my normal treatment (not so crazy about being clear back then) and the fact it was extremely humid, my skin was not breaking out very badly. It was pretty clear actually. Though to be fair, it's possible my acne didn't start acting in full force at that age.