Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
reality

My Acne Bad Enough For Accutane? Pictures Included.

I just turned 18 years old and I have had acne for about 1 and 1/2 years now. When I first got acne I rushed to the drug store and purchased a cleanser and facial scrub. I used those products for about 6 months and they didn't help at all. I stopped using products all together and decided to wash with just water. I don't pop any pimples I let them heal on their own. Now the only products I put on my face is shaving cream. I have been doing this for about 6 months now.

Please look at the picture below and tell me what you think. Should I take accutane? Do I have mild or serve acne? Will my acne just get worse over time? Creams and cleansers do not work so I won't use those again.

Click on the picture to see an enlarged version. The picture was taken under direct darkish lighting. Please do not leave with thread without leaving a reply, thank you.

Edited by reality

The skin looks irritated and dry. It sounds like you gave up really. Looks like you want to take a magic pill and not even give the regimen or any products a chance. Anyways....it looks to be minor to mild acne. Like I said, it just looks to be irritated and dry. Accutane is something you bring up with your dermatologist. Just by looking at the photos, I'd say that you wouldn't really need it. If you had cystic acne or large whiteheads and major breakout, then yeah. But as it stands, I would personally just get a light cleanser, BP and a good moisturizer and stick with it. Change your razor/shave cream. And then just be very gentle with your skin to make sure your not "popping" anything or touching the skin.