Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
AIDW0330

Accutane / Clarivis Log Moderate Acne 23 Yr Old Male

Hello,

I am a 23 year old male who has been dealing with mild - moderate acne for the past three years. I understand that some of you out there have it way worse than I; however, I feel myself constantly self aware of my acne and tend to stay in the house when I have break outs. I decided to go on accutane not only because of the severity of my acne (which has gotten much worse recently) but because it is uncontrollable. I have been on proactive, doxy, clyndamycin and strictly monitored by food intake which all seem to help for a little but it eventually comes back. When I think I understand how to control my acne and am on a good regimen it somehow just comes back.

I am a second year law student and have recently got a great summer job which helps me not think about my acne. Hopefully, the accutane will make me clear by then and I can start the next chapter in my life acne free. I am prepared for the initial out-break, no sun/partying, and. am hoping the next four months go by quickly. I find these forums helpful, especially because non of my friends have acne so no one understands what it feels like and more importantly I am lucky to learn from others. I find that these boards are more informative than any previous doctors I have ever seen.

I weight 155 lbs and am on 60mg a day of claravis. I got rid of all my old acne supplies and have purchased aquaphor, cetaphil lotion and face wash. I currently have two active pimples and my sideburns / jaw line each have about 15 dormant and red pimples from my last break out.

At this point I have two questions. First, I play sports frequently and lift weights. How will accutane affect me? Second, my doctor did not start me with the low dosage first. Is this uncommon?

I will add photos when I get a chance.

good luck to all the accutane users out there.