Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
aleeshalain

Inflamed Cysts, Sensitive To Medication

Hello everyone. I am a long time acne sufferer. I am a little over 21 years old now and I have had significant acne break outs since I was ten years old. I can't recall a day that I have left the house without full coverage make up since I was twelve years old.

I have been going to a dermatologist since I was 13 and through various combinations of anibiotics and topicals I usually managed to keep my skin under control. I always had a lot of red marks, but it was all stuff that could be easily covered to the point where a lot of people didn't even know I had acne.

When I graduated from high school I was taking 500 mg of cephalexin twice daily and using clindamicin in the morning. My skin was probably the clearest it had ever been. It took less time and effort to cover my face and I have pictures from that point in time where my skin looks nearly flawless. For this reason my dermatologist at the time wanted, understandably, to wean me off of the antibiotic.

unfortunately, within the last couple of years my acne has gotten excruciating. There are times where it seems to get better completely on its own-- times where I don't even wash my face or apply any medication and it looks good. However, out of the blue it will get worse. This is one of those times where it is worse.. and I think it might be the worst its ever been.