Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
marissa8161

Questions On Differin And Dryness

Hey, guys. I could really use some help here; I have A LOT of questions... I'm a 17 year old girl, and I've been on Differin for exactly 6 weeks, with Duac as a spot treatment. I use Neutrogena Foaming Facial cleanser; I've been using it for 5 years and its always worked great for me (until my beautiful perfect skin decided to suddenly become HORRENDOUS about two months ago...)

Here's my schedule:

- Wake up and wash face (its usually oily when I wake up... and I think I should wash the Differin and Duac off my skin before I start sweating a lot?)

- Workout (I usually stop halfway through to rinse off my face with cool water, because I'm afraid to have the sweat sitting on my skin for 1+ hours... I sweat A LOT.)

- Wash face again

- Spot treat with Duac, put on make-up (I use Maybelline SuperStay concealer and PureStay powder foundation.)

- About 10 hours after I put on the make-up, I wash my face again (I ALWAYS do this in the shower so I can let the water run over my face to help rinse the make-up off, instead of having to scrub it off.)

- I let my skin just chill for an hour or two--no make-up, no medicine.

- Apply Differin an hour or so before bed (its usually on my face for about 9-10 hours)

- Apply Duac before bed after Differin has dried.

- Sleep.

Okay, so here's my massive menagerie of questions.. please, somebody help me out? I'm so afraid that I'm doing something to hurt my skin even more.

1. Am I washing too much? My skin is very dry and I want to wash it less... but I feel like I should wash it before I workout so I'm not sweating with all the oil/medicine on my face, and I should wash afterward to clean off the sweat, and I need to wash in the evening to get my make-up off... But my skin is so dry its literally the texture of sandpaper on my chin and cheeks. I just don't know what to do!