Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi,

I have been fighting my light/medium acne for many years now. I wasn't affected in my teens but since 20 my skin has constantly gotten worse (I'm 26 now). I have tried every over-the-counter thing available. My dermatologist suggested Vit.A topically and different topicals but none of them had any effect. I don't want to take Accutane for health reasons and I don't use benzoylperoxide anymore because it discolored my hair.

For three months I have been low carbing strictly (never cheated once except eating fruits in the morning) which initially broke my out massively and then brought me back to the normal level of breakouts (3-5 per week). At the end of the three months I concluded low carb just doesn't do it for me. Since then I am lower on carbs than I was before doing low carb but I eat the odd slice of bread. I hardly ever eat sugar and only drink water through the day. My diet hasn't been to unhealthy before so I didn't have to change too much. After re-introducing carbs I broke out heavily again which I suspect is again due to the switch in diet.

I have tried changing my pillow every day, drinking lots of water, eating fresh fruits and vegetables none of which seemed to have any effect. I tried eatin 150g raisins a day as suggested somewhere here. I'm now getting 30 minutes of direct sun every day (for vitamin D) and I eat fish (salmon) two or three times a day to even my fatty acid ratio. I also try to cut poly-unsaturated fats by cooking only with coconut fat. Needless to say I didn't notice any improvement.

In spite of everything I have tried the pimples keep coming back so I'm basically out of ideas what else to try. Anybody care to enlighten me what my options are? :) I really want to get clear - finally.

Edited by murgl