Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I have had acne since i was 11 and now im nearly 20 years old and now its spread to my neck. I get cysts on my neck and sometimes swollen lumps on my face when its really bad. I have tried everything and although my face has gotten a bit better my neck acne is just getting worse and really upsets me. I have been on anti biotics for 7 months and they help a bit but my skin is stil bad and makes me extremely upset and stressed all of the time. Any suggestions?

I have a bit of a problem with neck acne recently. (I suffer from cystic acne and usually it's just on my face and a little bit on my back). I ended up picking at small bumps on my neck under my jawline with my dirty fingers so aggressively that it turned cystic which I picked at some more and then I got a gumball sized boil on my neck plus some little red bumps. I was very self conscious (The boil did rupture and go down on its own thankfully). I was seriously considering getting a few cheap turtlenecks to help me through any rough days with neck acne.

I'm not sure what you have all tried. I think a combination approach works best. Sometimes, one thing alone isn't enough to combat acne even though it might make some improvement. Perhaps some sort of topical for your neck would help like benzoyl peroxide or a retinoid or some sort of benzoyl peroxide/topical antibiotic/retinoid combo? If you haven't already, you could try an elimination diet with low glycemic foods, no dairy, etc. for awhile to see if that helps. Keep track of what you do and when it improves/worsens. You're female right? Do you think it's related to your menstrual cycle at all? Perhaps, supplements or birth control or spironolactone would help if you haven't already tried that. If you take probiotics or eat yogurt with probiotics in it, be sure to take that at a completely different time than you take the antibiotics.