Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
eastie

Is there any other way to clear severe acne than Accutane?

SO THE QUESTION IS: is severe acne only curable with Accutane?It seems that such things as diet change only helps to moderate acne sufferers.This questions is rather for people who did not get their acne out of the blue,perhaps because of bad diet but have been struggling with it since their puberty for years(as for me its been 12 years)

I used several things,topical and oral antibiotics,topical retinoids,even contraception pills and nothing worked significantly and for longer .I have been curing myself like that for 5 months now and I m starting to have enough because my face is already messy and the red dots(scars) will remain for years until they bleach with time. I just dont want to be completely unattracitve as I am single,recently broke up a long-term relationship.I dont date, I dont go to places where I would have to show my bare skin like swimming pools..I am mising a lto during this vacation

On the other hand I have a delicate liver and dont want to damage it with Accutane.Besides I would not be able to use contacts maybe even long after Accutane treatment what is said to happen..and I feel also very unattractive wearing my 1cm thick glasses.So there is no easy way.I would only use Accutane if I knew than nothing else would manage to clear really severe acne.

I have been on Accutane already and it helped me for two years.I wonder if the time of remission will be longer with the second treatment.

1. You are monitored for liver function during your course of accutane treatment.

2. I wore my contacts entirely through my treatment...no problem.

Your mileage may vary but it is not a done deal that accutane is going to somehow ruin your life...actually acne is ruining your life.

Joe Zit