Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
di5648

Hair shedding on Accutane?

Hi all,

Can't tell you what a comfort this message board has been for me over the past year. I sneak onto my laptop and read it at night when I can't sleep and I'm feeling really defeated.

I've struggled with acne since I was 12, and I'm now 28, just starting my THIRD round of accutane (Claravis). I suffer from some hormonal issues...and my derm thinks Accutane is the best option (since I approached her feeling really desperate for something to work---this past year's breakouts have put such a strain on my self esteem and well-being).

I'm just beginning week 4 of my course and I've noticed that I've been shedding hair much more than usual in the past week. I'm on 60mg/day. Has anyone else experienced this side effect so soon in their course? I'm feeling particularly terrified and anxious that I'm now going to lose my hair.

Perhaps I should go on a lower dose? Has anyone else dealt with this? I didn't experience this when I was on the drug before in my late teens/early 20s.

Feeling pretty alone---as I have felt while struggling with acne, and now feel even more as I face the potential side effects of this medication. It's like the insults are never-ending.

I welcome any helpful info/support you guys have!

hi there! have no fear... this is a pretty common side effect! i always lose hair when i'm in the shower, brushing my hair after a shower, etc. but when i started accutane i realized a lot more hair was coming out!

i completely forgot about it but i remember reading that that was one of the side effects. of course there are some freak accidents and people lose all their hair, but i really wouldn't worry about it. is your hair coming out in junks or just multiple strands?

don't feel alone! that's the best part of this community is that we're alllll struggling through this together. be brave!

hey, thanks for replying!