Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
eastie

why Roacutane did not work for me?

Is anybody of you in a similar situation?

I took two rounds of it,one I stopped half-way because of bad headaches but as my acne came back shortly afterwards I took another one and did not pay attention to side effects and I was clear for 2 years.It gradually came back and 3 years after the treatment I was looking even worse than before accutane. I have been fighting acne for 12 years( I am 24 yrs old so the whole adolescence and my adult life so far),I was also on BC pill Yasminelle and the improvement was only slight,not really worth it .I have been on dianette now for 2 months and nothing!(should I stop Dianette?)

My hormones do not go beyond the norm (only the high-normal range of DHEA-s)so it seems to be not hormone-related.

it is so bad you cant hide it with make up, I started retreating from life and avoiding dates as I am so ashamed that my skin gets disgustingly oily after 30 minutes from washing and I just want to hide at home...the minerals make up floats off my face quickly together with the sebum so there is no way to hide it...

I cant go camping across Europe as I dream because the sweat and lack of constant washing make my face look so bad I cant look people in the eye and I can feel painful cysts formulating.It is literally holding me back.

there is no way out.

Some of you say that Differin dried their face and my face is oily and has not even a trace of dryness after 30 minutes from putting large amount of it.HOW more oily can one be?

SO this is certainly sebum-excretion related problem,no antibiotic helped ,no topical retinoid helped,accutane helps for 2 years so whats the point if it will come back anyway?I lost half of my hair and stopped tolerating contact lenses for years afterwards.