Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kaizen08

Body Acne or a form of Folliculitis, please help with treatment! (Pics provided)

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting in these forums. I wish I had been here sooner, because I've had this problem for as long as I can remember, and definitely my entire adult life. I apologize for the length of this message, but I feel it may be necessary. For the past 10-15 years, I was extremely prone to acne to my entire body. Growing out of my teens, my face acne cleared up, and for as long as I can remember, acne on my chest, back, and upper arms have persisted. I feel these have gone away, but left very distinct scars that are difficult to see unless you look for them closely. But I come to you with an even greater problem.

Probably for the last 5 years, I've been having scattered acne over my chest, stomach, back, and upper arms (pretty much my entire upper body. I continued to get a lot of residual scars throughout the years, as I just simply tried the over the counter meds with salicylic acid. About a year ago, I had to undergo a surgery on my chest area, and me being a rather hairy guy, had to have it all off prior to surgery.

As the hair came back weeks and months down the line, i kept getting a lot more pimple-like blemishes on my upper body, most notably my chest and stomach. I continued to use the usual treatments to no avail. I had gathered way too many scars, which you will be able to see in the pictures below. 6 months ago, I saw a doctor about it, and he had declared that it was folliculitis and prescribed me a strong antibiotic. During and immediately after the antibiotics, I noticed a slowed occurrence and growth of these pimples, but they slowly kept coming back every now and then. I'm currently trying to deal with the scars while using a strong topical antibiotic on any new ones that may pop up.