Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
g-face2011

Restarting Retin A Micro 0.1%

Hi everyone,

I am new to acne.org but I would really appreciate some advice and/or someone's personal experience here.

I started using retin-a mico 0.1% about 2.5 years ago and have had a great experience (besides the initial breakout obviously).

In mid-march of this year, I ran out of the retin-a and decided to take a little break because I was going to vegas and arizona (lots of SUN!) for spring break and didn't want to have to worry about the sun-sensitivity. I never started up the retin-a again and my face was pretty regular until about 3-4 weeks ago. I've started to get more breakouts than I've had in a while and the recovery time is just not the same. I finally went and refilled my retin-a prescription but now I am a little hesitant about restarting because i don't want to break out MORE!

Has anyone had experience stopping and restarting retin-a within a 3-5 month period? Was the breakout bad? Less than the first time? Quicker to fade?

Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

So no one has responded, but I went ahead and restarted the retin-a Micro (0.04%). It's been one week and no peeling has occurred. My face is experiencing new breakouts (like on my cheek where I never breakout) and seems more oily over all. I am going to use up a couple of sample size bottles of the mid-strength retin-a micro gel (0.04%) before moving up to my usual dosage (0.1%).

I am also using Acanya (BP + Clindamycin) for topical spot treatment and around my mouth and chin because my dermatologist said the breakouts there were hormonal. So far I really like this topical. I told my derm that I didn't want to use BP because I know that's a no go with retin-a and have had bad experiences with peeling/scabbing before, but she assured me that this is very mild. And so far she's been right!