Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

So I've had acne for almost nine years now. Sometimes it doesn't bother me but other times it gets me really depressed.

When I was wearing makeup, I found it easier to look at myself in the mirror so it got to a point where I would wear makeup every single day, even if I wasn't leaving the house. I hated how I looked with no makeup on.

I tried every acne product within my means and of course nothing ever worked. I even tried some natural stuff, lemon juice, tea tree oil, lavender oil, honey etc. but none of it had any effect. It didn't make my acne worse, but it definitely didn't make it better either.

I kept putting it down to being a teenager and then stress when I was in college, but when I graduated college I decided that was it. I was told old for acne and anyway in the business I intend to get into (TV), nobody is going to hire me over any of my clear skinned colleagues who graduated alongside me. It's a fickle business and all my previous achievements aren't going to matter when I show up to an interview with spots all over my face. All the interviewer is going to be thinking while I talk him through my qualifications etc. is how people are going to take one look at me on their TV screens and immediately turn over as a result of the massive pimple staring them in the face.

So I decided to get clear. I first of all made a few small changes: not touching my face, tying my hair up at night so it doesn't irritate my face, drinking lots of water, not eating as much junk food and not wearing makeup.

The not wearing makeup part was particularly hard.I would actually hate myself when I looked in the mirror. Years of constantly wearing makeup to cover my acne had left my complexion dull aswell as spotty and I couldn't bare looking at myself but thankfully that all soon changed.