Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Eric S.

Help! Just popped a huge cyst, need coping techniques

Hello, everyone. I'm Eric, new to these forums. Without giving too much away about myself, I am a PhD student in political science at a major American university.

For about five years I have struggled with body dysmorphic disorder. I went on Accutane in fall 2006 despite my mild acne because I was paralyzed with fear about having acne. 18 months after Accutane, I started getting a few pimples again, but this time I started picking them really badly -- to the point of needing antibiotics to stop infection. I've worn more bandages out in public than any reasonable person should.

I thought I had this problem under control when my acne seemed to go away again, over the past six months or so, but now I just realize that was because the antidepressant I was on was suppressing my hormonal equilibrium and decreasing the acne I got. Weird, huh? Anyways, the other day I got a HUGE cyst on my left cheek. At first I tried very hard not to touch it -- very hard, was able to stop the impulse for about a day and a half while I made a few dermatological appointments.

Needless to say, at some point temptation gave in and I squeezed for about 30 minutes, getting as much out as I could. The result was that my cheek on the left side looked completely, totally inflamed and blood-red. Later that evening when I saw that the pimple really hadn't gone away, I literally gouged it out of my skin. Very painful but somehow stress-relieving at the time.