Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
The Old Man

What seems to be working for me

Recently, I've had some mild success in clearing my acne and thought I'd post about what I'm doing in the hopes that it will help others.

First, some background though. I'm a white male age 40 currently living in the eastern part of North Carolina but have lived in NJ, GA, and PA at various points in my life. We have mild winters and hot hot summers here. Everything is continually humid as all get out. I've had mild to moderate persistent acne since I was a teenager. I have had periods in my life when my skin was perfectly clear but the acne always came back. My diet is better than average and I normally have 1-3 servings of vegetables, 1-3 servings of fruit, and have whole wheat whenever the option presents itself. I don't avoid any foods, however, and will have pizza, chocolate, dairy, eggs, peanuts, gluten, etc. as available. I work as a project manager for software development companies and have worked as a software developer prior to that. I don't play any sports, so I don't get much natural light exposure on a daily basis. I'm 5' 9" and overweight at ~210 lbs. I have been this weight for decades. I have oily, sensitive skin.

My acne has traditionally been on my chest, shoulders, back, and to a lesser degree along my jawline. I apologize for not having before and after pictures. If I were to judge, I'd say my acne went from about 4 to 2 on a scale of 1 - 10. My skin is clearer and feels smoother and softer. Previously, if I ran my hand over my shoulder I could feel lots of tiny bumps now it feels like smooth, good quality leather. I still get new acne but it is now much reduced in size, redness, and duration. I am currently in week 3 of this approach. I've heard that human skin takes about 3 weeks to heal itself so I should be reaching a steady state at this point.