Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I'm 22 years old, and my acne is causing me to fall apart. I've been treating it since I was 16 years old, and like most people on these boards, I feel as though (and probably have) tried everything under the sun. My skin is so sensitive that when I use my prescribed topical creams, sometimes my face gets so dry that I can't even apply my makeup. I start to get so depressed, that I will do anything to get rid of the dryness.. even if this means avoiding the world for 2 days so that I can sit in my room with lotion slabbed all over my face. I am seeing a therapist, who I actually don't believe to be helping at all. She has completely perfect, flawless skin and is someone who has probably had skin that way her entire life. When I talk about all of this to her, she just nods or says "I bet that's frustrating," and I can tell that even though she wants to, she just can't possibly understand. Because I have tried to treat my acne for so many years, and tried so many things, I KNOW that one day I'm not going to wake up with clear skin, and that I'll probably never find a medicine that will completely correct this problem, so I need to find a way to live with my acne... or to not let it completely control my life. I just don't know how.

My acne is ruining my relationship with my friends and family. I always turn down my friends when they want to go out because I'd rather stay home with my acne cream on, or my face will look so bad that evening that I couldn't bear to go out with them. Not to mention they all seem to have perfect complexions, so being out with them makes me feel so bad about myself. I stress my mom out because she knows how depressed I am, and I feel so bad about that. She has enough to worry about, and I wish I didn't make her worry about me as well. She prays that my skin will get better, she told me that, and it completely breaks my heart.