Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I thought I'd share my experiences with how diet affects my acne. It's a bit of a long read.

Delayed Results

Two summers ago I decided to cut out as much processed sugar as I could. By the end of the summer, I had nothing but fading red marks left over. With me unable to find a job upon graduating college (I graduated right after the economy collapsed) I had to move in with my parents, who lived 2000 miles away at the time. So I fell into a sort of depressed mode and my bad eating habits from mid-late teens returned. However, it took a maybe a good 5-7 months of eating poorly before some of my acne really resurfaced. So the point here is, diet is a delayed effect both ways. Just because you aren't seeing something happen the next day from eating good or bad, it doesn't mean its not contributing long-term.

Denial

When some of the acne came back, I was in complete denial that diet had anything to do with it. I didn't want to believe it. I wanted to keep eating my daily portions of cookies, ice cream, and whatever other junk I craved regularly. And that was just it. The fact is that I (we) have some kind of disease. And just because the effects of diet may be delayed, doesn't mean you have to listen to some inept doctor who will tell you that just because eating junk may not make you break out today or tomorrow, that it will not have any long term effects.

If You're Still In Denial