Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
RaggedyAnne

My Accutane Adventure (Round 4)

My first time posting but not my first time on the Tane.

I'm 23, and started yesterday on 80mg/day dose. This is my first time taking it in the US and this iPledge system seems totally insane and inefficient to me! Small price to pay though :)

Anyway, the positive message is that I'm delighted because I know it works, and I know I'm able to take it religiously and take care of my skin while on it this time.

Pictures to come soon (don't want to show them but hopefully soon this skin will be a laughable distant memory...)

I'm excited to share experiences with other people going through it and see people's progress!

If you're a girl, have you tried hormonal approaches to treating your acne like BCP or Spironolactone?

If you're a girl, have you tried hormonal approaches to treating your acne like BCP or Spironolactone?

Knew I forgot some stats! Yes I'm a girl. I had all androgens checked and was checked for PCOS and there was no issue. I was told everything was normal and that hormonal approaches were not the obvious approach. I also react badly to the birth control pill so I was wary of doing it.

If this doesn't provide a semi-permanent solution, though, I'll try it for sure :)

I was first on Accutane at 13, then at 15, then at 19. I think the biggest reason it didn't work the first few times is that I was too young and too distracted to approach it the right way, and was put on too low a dose (30 mg for three months).

Knew I forgot some stats! Yes I'm a girl. I had all androgens checked and was checked for PCOS and there was no issue. I was told everything was normal and that hormonal approaches were not the obvious approach. I also react badly to the birth control pill so I was wary of doing it.

If this doesn't provide a semi-permanent solution, though, I'll try it for sure :)