Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Joctober14

Antibiotics as a child

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I'm a teen -15- and have had moderate acne that has not gotten better (or worse) for the past few months. In October 2010 I had close to perfect skin. I would only break out in small insignificant areas that I could quickly clear up with over-the-counter medication (Clearasil, etc.)

From the next month after that until now, I have found my skin getting progressively worse. I developed acne around the "T" zone. At first I used Clearasil to help these areas and washed my face with a gentle cleanser. I moisturized every day. When this didn't help, I changed my diet. No sugar, bread, etc. Nothing cleared my face up to what it used to be.

Finally I was put on antibiotics after the derm. had prescribed topical medication (duac) that didn't help within two months. I am now on doxycycline and have been taking it for about two months as well. At first, taking the antibiotics I noticed that my face was less oily and stopped breaking out in the usual areas. But still I had spots of red that never diminished. Now I break out again even when I eat no sugar, bread, dariy, and eat plenty of vegetables.

I was wondering if maybe having antibiotics when I was younger could have made the acne bacteria resistant to the doxycycline?

Does anyone have information to prove this (wrong)?

Doxycycline is not an antibiotic you are likely to have received as a child so it's unlikely your ace would have any resistance to it.

And even if you had, being off it for multiple years would remove the selective pressure for resistance making it kind of a nonissue anyways.

my son has been on doxy. Toe infection. (surgery) Anytime there is a skin infections they will fist reach for cephalexin, then doxy. Unless it's from an animal bite, then it's augmentin.