Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi there,

I've been reading these forums for quite a while.

English isn't my main language, so please don't be too harsh on me :surprised:

So I've been fighting acne for about 2 years. I'm 21 (male).

I had acne since I was about 16-17 but at that time it was fairly light.

2 years ago I had a huge breakout. And when I say huge, it's... HUGE.

My right cheek was FULL of big pimples. Rest of face was quite bad, but almost nice when comparer to the cheek lol.

Now my acne is MUCH lighter (read I don't hide my face anymore whenever I go out), but still have some bad issues.

Here is what worked for me :

- BP : be it 2.5, 5 or 10%, they had about the same effect of my skin. No irritation or sideffects apart from light peeling, just don't overdo it early.

At the one month mark, you'll see some results, but they became really great after 3 months.

- Differin (0.1) : I've been on this one for about 1 week and a half, and I must say it's quite effective. I know you're supposed to wait about 3 months to see if it's effective or not, but prior to applying this, I had some AHA treatment for about 2 months and I really had some bad breakouts. So I think because I broke out a lot beforehand, differin's effect was a bit faster.

- BP + Differin (BP in the morning, Differin before sleeping) has worked really well for me so far.

- AHA : worked for me the first time, but last time I tried, results were pretty bad.

Some general advice that worked for me :

- Sleep well !! This is very important. Whenever I sleep less than 9-10 hours (yes, I need about 10 hours of daily sleep to feel fine), I see consequences on my skin the next days. So sleep as much as you can.