Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sassyblonde007

Doxycycline still breaking out after 4 weeks on Meds...

Hi all I am new to acne.org. I just wanted to start out by thanking all of you for sharing you struggles and accomplishments with acne. I am 29 years old, a mother of 20 month old twin daughters, and a stay/work from home Mom. I have had acne pertty much all my life. It has really effected my quality of life, much like several of you that post on these boards. I have attempted suicide in the past and had to be placed in a mental facility for several days because I was so severely depressed that my husband and family were not sure if I was capable of hurting myself again. A lot of the depression stems from bitter teasing through out middle school and high school. I wont go into how severe the teasing was.

I am just venting because I am back on Doxycycline Hyclate 100mg BID for the billionth time as well as spiro 50 mg QD and BP 4% (I believe) face wash. I am frustrated because I have been faithful to my meds for 4 weeks, tomorrow and I am still breaking out. Seems like I am getting 2-3 zits a day. Granted they are not huge cysts but they are under the skin and will not go away. No matter how long I leave them alone they still stay under the skin :mad: I have to pop them in order for them to go away, but this also leaves a red mark behind that takes forever to heal. Just wondering if anyone has had this same issue with Doxycycline?? Thanks for your feedback in advance :D:D Oh and I ment to add that each time I have taken an acne script from the dermo I have not exceded more than 3-5 months. I have taken tetracycline, minocycline and doxycycline no accutane. Also spiro and ortho-tri-cycline. With my depression history I do not want to chance the side effects of accutane. My last script of any acne med was back in AUG of 2009 (Doxy 100mg BID) for a few months. Havent had any problems with my skin until the middle of JAN 2011.