Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sam7867

RETIN-A SIDE EFFECTS... OILY SKIN ARGHHH

Hello there,

I have been using retin-A for the past four months and i have noticed my skin has become super oily and dry too (weird to explain, but most people who've already used this stuff will know exactly what i'm talking about lol).

Is my skin going to stay like this forever until i stop using Retin-A or will it soon balance my oils ?

Is there a moisturizer that i could use that will control my oil production? At the moment i'm using olay for sensitive skin( the new one) and its very oily, i just washed my face (its been about 10 minutes and you should see my face...honestly its like i've just ran a marathon lol...my face is covered in OIL arghh)

i would love to hear from you guys :)

btw its my first time posting on here :)

Edited by sam7867

I've noticed that combo on my face too!! I've been using tretinoin for 2 months to this date.

ANDDDDD I use Olay for sensitive skin (the new one) haha. So i'd love some imput on this too! I wonder if this isn't as good of a moisturizer as my derm said.

Ps - Have you cleared up? (even after month two my skin is AWFUL! . .still)

I am also having this problem. I think its only a side effect though and should subside once you stop using the medicine because I cant remember having this problem before using Retin A.

Hey friends. I wash with cetaphil gentle cleanser and i find this helps with my oiliness. After i wash with this i apply FINACEA. FINACEA absorbs oil for me and prevents breakouts. I suggest you try it. Remember........in most cases you dont need to wash your face lkonger than 20 or so seconds. You just want the oil off. DOnt dry the skin layers. Overdrying of the skin can cause a ramped up amount of oil. Good luck. Keep trying to get it right it will eventually come.