Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Michaelangelo

Should I take accutane?

So my background is basically that I have suffered from body acne for about 5 or so years now. I have been off and on a lot of medications and nothing never cleared up the problem. I went to a new derm a few months back and he instantly looked at my problem and recommended accutane. At the time I was so happy, this is always what I wanted, the golden cure. Right? My acne would finally be cured! I got the blood work done and everything was OK. Yes.

I started to tell my friends and researched more on accutane and began second guessing myself. I read plenty of great stories that made me jealous of their success, but their was also the horror stories of people saying if they could go back in a time machine, they would have never taken the medicine for reason A,B, and C.

After all the scare and friends talking me out of it, who had no actual accutane experience, I decided not to go on the medicine. I later learned that my nephew in the family took accutane and got great results with it. His acne wasn't body related but I'm still jealous of his success, but the long term side effects still worry me.

Every time I feel the pain from my acne on my body, I think about what it would be like if I had started taking accutane a couple months back? At this point, after all the pain and suffering, I feel like the most extreme side effects of accutane are worth trying if it would actually fix the problem. It seriously seems like this problem controls my life, in a negative way, and I just want it to go away.... Its so embarrassing! What girl wants a guy covered in body acne? Even if they say its OK, I'm sure they find it gross... It seriously makes me depressed. Is this the answer though?

So... is the accutane worth the risk? Please share your stories and insights.

I'd be wary of dermatologists that are very quick to dole out prescriptions for accutane.