Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
florious

I'm new here - looking for feedback on derm's advice

Hi everyone! I have been reading these boards for ages, but this is my first time joining and posting :)

I''ve had acne since I was 13, and I'm 29 now, so that's way too long :(

for the past 5-6 years it was pretty mild, things had definitely calmed down, and I generally had small breakouts, generally around my period. I always did though, have a layer of small pimples all over my forehead, really visible in light.

HOWEVER, the past 2-3 months my face has turned on me. I am, suddenly, out of no where, getting huge, very red, and very very inflamed breakout clusters, mainly on my cheeks/chin. These will come in groups of 5-6 and be very painful and sore for days. I never had acne like this before, and I'm really upset about it. It's been hard to deal with, since I really thought as I got older things would get slowly better, until I'd eventually have clear skin. Emotionally I feel like I'm in 8th grade again with these breakouts :(

for background info - I used proactiv for years with some success, then switched to clinique acne solutions about a year ago, again with some success. I have been on tri-cyclen birth control for ages.

Today I went to the Toronto Acne Clinic, to see if they could offer me some advice/help. I got a really great feeling from the dr there, and I'm hopeful she can help me clear things up.

I'm looking for some feedback on what she told me, and adviced me to use. It's been years since I was at a derm, and I'm out of date on the products and theories.

She suggested that since my breakouts are mainly on my chin, they're hormonally-related, and will come with stress and my period.

What she wants me to do:

-switch to Diane birth control pills

-start washing with Sepctro Gel

-moisturize with spectro moisturizer

-use benzamycin every 2nd night