Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
tranceaddict

First Day on regimen

Hello all!

This is my first post here. I just received my starter regimen kit in the mail and am excited to start using it.

My doctor had previously prescribed me benzaclin which is a mix of 5% bp and some clindamyacin. It works well however i only ever used it when a pimple had already formed so i guess it did nothing with preventing them.

I get acne (mostly pustules) along my jawline up near my sideburns and sometimes a breakout above my lip as well as forehead. Because I have some pustules right now I have grown a thick chinstrap to hide the acne however it makes it rather hard to apply the bp since it doesn't feel like i can apply it right to the skin.

Also should i use a little bit more bp since my skin is kind of used to it from using benzaclin previously?

thanks all and i look forward to sharing my progress with you

I'm a Regimen newbie too (started at the beginning of November) so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Since your going to be applying BP all over your face now, and not just spot treating like you were before, I'd use the starting amount that Dan recommends for at least three days before increasing the dosage. After 3 weeks on the Regimen I've only increased a little bit from the starting dosage, and I'm still getting some flaking, so take it slow.

As for the facial hair question, well, I'm female, so I don't know what to tell you about that one :)

I'm a Regimen newbie too (started at the beginning of November) so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Since your going to be applying BP all over your face now, and not just spot treating like you were before, I'd use the starting amount that Dan recommends for at least three days before increasing the dosage. After 3 weeks on the Regimen I've only increased a little bit from the starting dosage, and I'm still getting some flaking, so take it slow.